People

Thomas Stoffregen

photo of Dr. Thomas StoffregenDirector
612-626-1056
tas@umn.edu

As a student, I came to believe that the Ecological Approach to Perception and Action provides insight into fundamental aspects of animate behavior. I have attempted to understand and develop these insights in a variety of contexts, from laboratory research on infants to applied research on flight simulation, from narrowly focused studies of body sway to general theories of the nature of perceptual information. I believe that the essential truth of the Ecological Approach can best be tested by pushing the theory as far as possible, by attempting to apply it to the broadest possible range of situations and phenomena, from infancy to the elderly, from insects to humans, and from virtual environments to space flight.

At the University of Minnesota, I serve in several capacities. I teach undergraduate courses in Motor Development across the Lifespan (KIN 3132), Perceptual-Motor Learning (Kin 4133), and Embodied Cognition (Kin 4136), and graduate courses including the Movement Science graduate seminar (KIN 8135), and Human Factors Psychology (HumF 5722). From 2001-2006, I was the Director of Graduate Studies for the All University Graduate Minor in Human Factors/Ergonomics. I am a member of the Center for Clinical Movement Science, and the Center for Cognitive Sciences, and serve as a member of MA and Ph.D. committees for CCMS and CCS trainees, as well as providing lab space and facilities for related research. I am a member of the graduate faculty in five disciplines: Kinesiology, Industrial Engineering, Human Factors/Ergonomics, Neuroscience, and Psychology. I serve on the Editorial Boards for several scholarly journals, including Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception & Performance.

Dr. Stoffregen's School of Kinesiology web page


Nurtekin Erkmen
Nurtekin Erkmen

Visiting research scientist
612-624-1025
erkme003@umn.edu

Nurtekin Erkmen is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Sport Sciences, Selcuk University, Turkey. He received his Ph.D. from Gazi University (2006) in the area of movement and training. His research is focused on postural control and training in athletes. He currently serves as Editor of the Turkish Journal of Sport and Exercise. He also is a soccer coach, with a UEFA B Certificate.


Tom Smith
Frank Koslucher

Research scientist
612-624-1025
koslu003@umn.edu



Frank Koslucher
Tom Smith

Research scientist
612-625-2044
smith293@umn.edu


Dr. Smith's School of Kinesiology page

Mike Wade
Michael G. Wade

Research scientist

612-626-2094

mwade@umn.edu


Dr. Wade's School of Kinesiology page

APAL Partner - International
Cristina Alcantara University of Sao Paulo, Brazil cristinapaa@gmail.com
Benoít Bardy Université Montpellier-1
Montpellier, France
benoit.bardy@univ-montp1.fr
Chih-Hui Chang Kaohsiung University, Taiwan fcchen@mail.npust.edu.tw
Fu-Chen (Kidd) Chen Pingtung University, Taiwan fcchen@mail.npust.edu.tw
Marcos Duarte Federal University ABC, Brazil duartexyz@gmail.com
Kiyohide Ito Future University, Japan kiyochan.seikochan-rose@love.email.ne.jp
Masato Sasaki Tokyo University, Japan msasaki@educhan.p.utokyo.ac.jp
David Sugden University of Leeds, England D.A.Sugden@education.leeds.ac.uk
Manuel Varlet Université of Montpellier-1, France manuel.varlet@univ-montp1.fr
APAL Partner - USA
Paul Cassidy
Medtronic, Inc.
763-514-9769
Lawrence J. Hettinger
Principal Research Scientist
Liberty Mutual Research Institute for Safety
Lawrence.Hettinger@libertymutual.com 508-497-0297
Randy J. Pagulayan
User Research Lead,
Microsoft Game Studios
randypag@microsoft.com 425-707-9050
Michael A. Riley
Department of Psychology
University of Cincinnati
michael.riley@uc.edu 513-556-5544
Kevin Shockley
Department of Psychology
University of Cincinnati
kevin.shockley@uc.edu 513-556-3124
L. James Smart
Department of Psychology
Miami University (Ohio)
smartlj@muohio.edu 513-529-1656
Nick Stergiou
Nebraska Core Biomechanics Facility
University of Nebraska-Omaha
nstergiou@mail.unomaha.edu
Jeff Wagman
Illinois State University, Normal IL
jeffreywagman@illinoisstate.edu
Yawen Yu
Department of Physical Therapy
Temple University
yawenyu0811@gmail.com
University of Minnesota - Graduate student resarchers
Suhas Sudhir Bharadwaj (Engineering) bhara033@umn.edu 612-624-1025
Christopher Curry curry134@umn.edu 612-624-1025
Eric Haaland haala040@umn.edu 612-624-1025
Ruixuan Li (Human Factors) lixx3747@umn.edu 716-903-6384
Justin Munafo munaf002@umn.edu 612-624-1025
Nicolette Peterson pete9746@umn.edu 612-624-1025
Ruth Rath rathn003@umn.edu 612-624-1025
Josh Straub (Human Factors) strau121@umn.edu 612-388-4497
Hannah Walter walte666@umn.edu 612-624-1025
University of Minnesota - Undergraduate student resarchers