For Students, Faculty, and Staff: MyU One Stop

100th Anniversary Celebration

The University of Minnesota School of Social Work is celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2016-2017, and we hope you can join us at these exciting events.


Wednesday, Sept. 27

Is Health Social Work at a Crossroads? Education & Practice for Social Work in Health Care

An interactive discussion on a timely, provocative, and important topic.

Keynote speaker: Barbara F. Brandt, Ph.D., director of the NEXUS: National Center for Inter-professional Practice and Education at the University of Minnesota.

Details and registration.

October 6

Continuing Education Workshops Celebrating the Work of Our Ph.D. Alumni

The School of Social Work will host afternoon workshops presented by four of our Ph.D. alumni whose research makes direct connections to practicing professional social workers and youth workers. Attendees will receive 1.5 CEUs for each workshop they complete.
Time: 1:00–4:30 p.m.
Location: Peters Hall.
Cost: $15 per workshop

Workshop details, presenter bios and registration information.

October 6

Social Work Educators and Field Instructors Celebration

4:45–6:30 p.m., Paul Whitney Larson Art Gallery, St. Paul Student Center. Watch for your invitation!

October 7

100th Anniversary Gala Celebration: Social Justice for a Better World

The School will celebrate its major 100th Gala event from 5:00 to 9:00pm with a reception and dinner at McNamara Alumni Center. The program will include a discussion of challenges and opportunities for the promotion of social justice in the coming decade. Tavis Smiley, PBS talk-show host, will facilitate the discussion. The panel will include social welfare scholars Sheldon Danziger, president of the Russell Sage Foundation; Alan Dettlaff, an expert in child welfare and disparities; and Michelle Fine, a scholar in social justice issues, particularly as they relate to schools, prisons, and youth in urban communities. Also on the panel is environmental activist and former Green Party vice presidential candidate, Winona LaDuke.