University of Minnesota

Tucker Center Affiliated Scholars

Tucker Center Affiliated Scholars are people with substantive interests in the research and programmatic interests of the Tucker Center. Affiliated Scholars are by invitation and may be:

  • Faculty at the University of Minnesota and other institutions who wish to participate selectively and collaboratively in TC research and activities
  • Individuals external to the University of Minnesota who participate in TC-related research and activities

Benefits & Expectations

Affiliated Scholars will receive notification of TC events and are welcome to attend. Affiliated Scholars may be expected to participate in, or attend some TC activities, contribute to the biannual newsletter, as well as respond to requests for information. Foremost, TC Affiliated Scholars amplify and extend the work and mission of the TC.

The Process

For more information about becoming an Affiliated Scholar, individuals should contact:

Dr. Nicole LaVoi, co-director
Tucker Center for Research on Girls & Women in Sport
1900 University Ave SE - Cooke 203,
Minneapolis, MN 55413

Current Affiliated Scholars

University of Minnesota Affiliated Scholars

Image of Rayla Allison Image of Daheia Barr-Anderson Image of Jo Buysse Image of Austin Stair Calhoun
Rayla Allison, JD
Daheia Barr-Anderson, PhD, MSPH
Jo Buysse, PhD
Sport Management
Austin Stair Calhoun, PhD
Medical Education
Image of Doug Hartmann Image of Lisa Kihl Image of Beth Lewis Image of Toben Nelson
Doug Hartmann, PhD
Lisa Kihl, PhD
Beth Lewis, PhD
Toben Nelson, PhD
Image of Vicki Schull Image of Steve Stovitz Image of Chelsey Thul Image of Diane Wiese-Bjornstal  
Vicki Schull, PhD
Steve Stovitz, MD, FACSM
Sports Medicine
Chelsey Thul, PhD
Diane Wiese-Bjornstal, PhD


External Affiliated Scholars

Image of Laura Burton Image of Cheryl Cooky Image of Elizabeth Daniels Image of Guylaine Demers
Laura Burton, PhD
University of Connecticut
Cheryl Cooky, PhD
Purdue University
Elizabeth Daniels, PhD
University of Colorado
Guylaine Demers, PhD
Laval University, Canada
Image of Janet Fink Image of Caroline Heffernan Image
of Kent Kaiser Image of Cindra Kamphoff
Janet Fink, PhD
Caroline Heffernan, PhD
Temple University
Kent Kaiser, PhD
Northwestern College
Cindra Kamphoff, PhD
Minnesota State, Mankato
of Vikki Krane  Image of Sarah Leberman  Image
of Nancy Lough Image
of Leanne Norman
Vikki Krane, PhD
Bowling Green State U
Sarah Leberman, PhD
Massey U, New Zealand
Nancy Lough, PhD
Leanne Norman, PhD
Leeds Beckett U, UK
Image of Etsuko Ogasawara Image of
Sally Shaw

Etsuko Ogasawara, PhD
Juntendo U, Japan
U of Otago, New Zealand