Education and Human Development

Distinguished International Alumni Award

The CEHD Distinguished International Alumni Award recognizes outstanding achievements of international CEHD alumni to educational progress in their country.

CEHD is committed to deepening global relationships through research partnerships, study abroad, international degree-seeking students, and scholar exchanges. The Distinguished International Alumni Award reflects our commitment to fostering meaningful engagement around the world, and honors the outstanding CEHD alumni who are using their education to make a difference in their home (or another) country.

Recipients will be honored annually at the CEHD Exceptional Alumni Awards Celebration.

If you have any questions, please contact us at or 612-625-5963.


    Any alumni from the College of Education and Human Development with an M.A, M.Ed, MSW, EdD, or Ph.D who has contributed to outstanding educational progress in their country.

    2024 Distinguished International Alumni Award Recipient

    Millicent Adjei (MA '12, Organizational Leadership, Policy and Development; PhD '19, Comparative and International Development Education)

    Millicent Adjei (she/her) is the Director, Diversity and International Programs and Adjunct Faculty at Ashesi University. She joined Ashesi University in 2012, and started the university's Office of Diversity and International Programs. As part of her role at Ashesi, she has helped increase intercultural understanding on campus, and has helped Ashesi initiate several study abroad and funding partnerships with top universities and organizations worldwide. She is part of the team that manages a $13 million MasterCard Foundation Scholars Programme at Ashesi. She is also a board member for the Girls' Exploration and Empowerment Club, an after school learning center for underprivileged girls in Ghana.

    Read the full profile for Millicent Adjei

    Millicent Adjei

    Millicent Adjei | 2024 Distinguished International Alumni Award

    Millicent Adjei

      2015: John Flomo, Liberia
      2014: Zayed Al Harethi
      2013: Halil Dundar, Turkey
      2012: Michelle de Haan , Canada
      2011: Yoav Lavee, Israel
      2010: Vilma D'Rozario, Singapore, and Sung-Kyung Yoo, Korea
      2008: Shu-ching Kao, Taiwan
      2007: Ahmad Ajarimah, Saudi Arabia
      2006: Geraldene Hodelin, Jamaica
      2005: Frosso Motti-Stefanidi, Greece
      2003: Tong-In Wongsothorn, Thailand
      2002: Huann-shyang Lin, Taiwan
      2001: Abdulaziz Kamal, Qatar, and Yong-lin Moon, Korea
      2000: Sam Hwan Joo, Korea, and Elizabeth Vukeh Tamajong, Cameroon
      1999: Noriko Hiraki, Japan
      1998: Fouzia Saeed, Pakistan
      1997: Somwung Pitiyanuwat, Thailand