CEHD alumni award of excellence

The Alumni Award of Excellence recognizes alumni who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and leadership in their profession, served as mentors to others in their field, or shown exceptional volunteer service. This award will be given annually by the CEHD Alumni Society to one alumni in each of the following categories:

  • A graduate from any CEHD degree program with at least 15 years of work experience in preK-20 educational institutions (examples: preschools, ECFE, K-12 schools, colleges, universities, etc.). Alumni working at such preK-20 educational institutions can represent a variety of career disciplines (examples: teachers, principals, administrators, counselors, psychologists, coaches, social workers, staff, faculty, activity directors, etc.).
  • A graduate from any CEHD degree program with at least 15 years of work experience outside of preK-20 educational institutions, representing any career discipline.
  • Nominations for the 2023 Alumni Award of Excellence will open in January 2023.

    Contact the CEHD Alumni Society for further information: cehdas@umn.edu

    Congratulations to the 2022 Alumni Award of Excellence recipients

    Ashley Landers

    Ashley Landers
    PhD ’16, Family Social Science

    Dr. Ashley L. Landers, PhD, LMFT is an Assistant Professor in the Human Development and Family Science Program’s Couple and Family Therapy specialization in the Department of Human Sciences at The Ohio State University. As a community-engaged scholar, Ashley’s research predominantly encompasses projects that are co-created in partnership with the American Indian community.

    Read the full profile for Ashley Landers.

    Abdul Omari
    PhD ’15, Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development

    Dr. Abdul Omari is a three-time Gopher, with a bachelor’s in global studies, a master’s of public policy, and a PhD in comparative and international development education. He is the founder of AMO Enterprise, which started as a passion project during his doctorate work. AMO Enterprise provides an educational platform for businesses to work on leadership development and the inseparable ties to equity, inclusion, and diversity.

    Read the full profile for Abdul Omari.

    Abdul Omari

    Past alumni award of excellence recipients:

    • 2021: Juliana Carlson and K. Giddings
    • 2019: Chelsea Petree
    • 2018: Candice Nadler and Catherine Rich
    • 2017: Beth Bowman and Karen Filla
    • 2015: Kenneth Dragseth, Amelia Franck Meyer
    • 2014: Kenneth Mauer, Barbara Schmidt
    • 2013: Marvin Davis, Peg Lonnquist