Financial support for future teachers

Every year, our students receive over $600,000 in scholarships. The scholarships below are for prospective students who are applying or are enrolled in one of CEHD's initial licensure/M.Ed. programs.

Students pursuing licensure in math, science, or ESL may be considered for the Schulze Future Teacher Scholarship Program.

Scholarships with separate applications

The Alumni Society sponsors the Promise of Tomorrow Scholarship. Applicants must have earned a minimum of 15 credits at time of application, have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and be a full-time student when the scholarship is awarded.

Students who have completed licensure but are completing final M.Ed. requirements are eligible for the M.Ed. Award of Recognition, which requires a separate application.

Applying for Scholarships

Priority deadline: January 15, 2020

2020 Scholarship Application Form.

Available Scholarships

You only need to submit one application form to be considered for all scholarships.

For all teaching areas

  • Lucille and Gustav Bauermeister Scholarship
  • Marian L. Campbell Scholarship
  • Campbell Scholarship for Education
  • Centennial Scholarship
  • Joan L. & Denneth C. Dvergsten Education Scholarship
  • Isabel Graham Giddings Endowed Scholarship in Education (preference for African-American women)
  • Dr. Max W. and Frances Halpern Goldberg Scholarship (planning a rural teaching career)
  • Michael J. & Susan F. Johnson Annual Scholarship (preference for first-generation college student)
  • Gordon M. A. Mork Endowment Fund
  • Rev. Dr. Robert and Pauline Olson-Koenig Scholarship
  • Dr. Carlus Selvig Family Scholarship in Education
  • Ebert-Stembler Scholarship in the College of Education & Human Development
  • Felix & Marion Ugland Mallinger Scholarship
  • Judy D. Walter Endowed Scholarship (planning an urban teaching career)
  • Daniel and Kathleen Wetterstrom Scholarship

Agricultural education

Art education

  • Myrtie G. and Donald T. Houpt Fund
  • Carol Ann Noreen Memorial Scholarship

Early childhood education

  • Elizabeth Louise Noreen Memorial Scholarship
  • Puzak Family Scholarship

Elementary education

  • Roger M. Adams Scholarship for Elementary Teachers
  • Rosamond Dols Endowment in Elementary Education
  • David and Merece Johnson Scholarship
  • Emily A. Kernkamp Endowed Scholarship
  • Elizabeth V. Koenig Scholarship
  • Nancy L. Lersch Endowed Scholarship
  • Rodney Nelson Scholarship

English education

  • Charlie and Iris Post Fried Family Scholarship
  • Betty Roith Seifert Scholarship
  • Dora V. Smith Scholarship
  • Donna M. Traphagen Scholarship
  • Mabel Gran Ulsaker Scholarship

Mathematics education

  • Lorena Jacobson Scholarship
  • Frank L. Kernik Memorial Scholarship
  • Sidney and Bernice Page Scholarship
  • Caryl and Ernest Pierson Scholarship
  • Hannah Stocker Scholarship

Science education

  • Wallace R. Hlavac Memorial Scholarship

Second languages & cultures education

  • Mae Johnson Scholarship
  • Marilyn Nordstrom Olson and Valdemar Olson Scholarship
  • Teacher Education Scholarship
  • Donna M. Traphagen Scholarship

Secondary education

  • Alpha Marie Gustafson Endowed Scholarship

Social studies education

  • Betty Roith Seifert Scholarship
  • Edith West Scholarship

Schulze Future Teacher Scholarship Program

Each year through 2019-20, the Schulze Future Teacher Scholars Program will award scholarships of up to $20,000 to eligible CEHD initial licensure (ILP) students and undergraduate special education students. Recipients are recognized as members of the Schulze Future Teacher Scholars cohort. An expectation of Scholars will include participation in publicity of the program and cohort specific events.


  • Eligible students who plan to complete their CEHD initial licensure program in the 2019-20 academic year in ESL, math, science or special education (undergraduate students).
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher
  • Commitment to teach for at least 3 years
  • Demonstrable financial need (FAFSA must be submitted.)


A separate application is not required for the Schulze scholarship. You will be considered for the Schulze scholarship when you complete the online application linked above.

Promise of Tomorrow Scholarship - Alumni Society

  • $4,000. Up to 10 scholarships can be awarded, depending on availability of funds.
  • Complete the online application. Deadline: February 1, 2019
  • Award date: total amount split between fall 2019 and spring 2020 semesters.
  • Criteria: Applicants must be a CEHD undergraduate student or a student enrolled in the college's initial teacher licensure program (undergraduate or master's). The applicant must have earned a minimum of 15 credits at time of application, have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and be a full-time student when the scholarship is awarded.

M.Ed. Award of Recognition

  • $1000 award
  • Applicant has completed initial licensure within the past five years and is in the process of completing coursework needed for the M.Ed. degree for that licensure area. Past recipients of this scholarship are not eligible to receive it a second time.
  • Deadlines:
    • January 14, 2019 for receipt of applications for spring 2019
    • May 20, 2019 for receipt of applications for summer 2019
    • August 26, 2019 for receipt of applications for fall 2019
  • To apply, each candidate must submit the following as attachments to
    • A cover letter including demographic and contact information (student ID, phone number, email address); the candidate’s licensure/M.Ed. area; and a description of the course or courses planned for the term
    • A resume or vita
    • A personal statement describing personal and professional goals in the teaching profession
    • A letter or email of support from one college faculty member or adviser to include a description of remaining courses and requirements needed for completion of the M.Ed. degree